A Hesperornithiform Challenge

SAM_0610

I love birds. Anyone familiar with my interests can tell you that. And as far as different groups of fossil birds go, my favorite is by far the hesperornithiforms, the toothed diving birds that abounded in the seas of the Cretaceous. I’m not sure I can quite articulate why I find this group so fascinating. Part of it’s probably just because they’re so delightfully bizarre, in addition to the fact that they were part of such a fascinating ecosystem. Regardless, I am now taking it upon myself to learn as much as I can about these incredible birds. As such, I will begin reading as many papers on them as I can. This is the first time I’ve put so much focus on reading up on such a specific topic, and I look forward to the knowledge I will hopefully gain from such an experience. I have already begun by reading Martin and Tate’s landmark description of Baptornis, and there are many more already on my list. If you have any paper recommendations, feel free to let me know. Other than that, I’ve got some reading to do.

Leave a Reply

